Standard 7

Standard 7- Engages in professional growth.

Criteria a.- Demonstrates habits and skills of continuous inquiry and learning.

I was recently accepted into graduate school at the University of Northern Iowa.  In the fall of 2014, I will begin my work toward a master’s in library sciences.

Graduate School

In addition to my graduate school work, I am in the process of becoming a certified Google Educator.  I have taken and passed the basic exam which is the first step.

Google Educator


Criteria b.- Works collaboratively to improve professional practice and student learning.

Every week I meet with the other first grade teachers for our team meeting.  During our meetings we collaborate on the curriculum and how to best meet the needs of our students.

Team Meeting Minutes

Team Meeting Minutes 2


Criteria c.- Applies research, knowledge, and skills from professional development opportunities to improve practice.

In October of 2013 I attended a professional development class on Whole Brain Teaching.  I took what I learned in the class and used it to improve classroom behavior during transitions.  My mentor also did an observation of the classroom behaviors.

Project 1 Forms

In April of 2015 I attended the Iowa Association and School Libraries annual conference.  One session I attended focused on coding in the classroom.  Coding promotes problem solving and critical thinking skills.  I have since started coding with my students in class using the Scratch Jr. app.  This summer I will be attending a workshop put on by Code.org.


Criteria d.  Establishes and implements professional development plans based upon the teacher needs aligned to the Iowa Teaching Standards and district/building student achievement goals.

Formal Observation Summary

During the year I created a Professional Learning Plan to set and meet goals in math instruction involving integrated technology.

PLP

Leave a Reply

